Thursday, May 27, 2010

Filthy Rich, MD

A shiny black Porsche was parked in that special nook in the hospital reserved for the powers that be. I may be a girl but there's something about that sleek black car that makes your heart skip a beat. The other day, it was Mini Cooper beckoning at me from that spot. And how could I forget that black Mercedes?

Still I wouldn't trade my Yesu for anything... even a Porsche. He may be thirteen years old and covered in dust, but my heart belongs to him. Hmmmm... a little convincing might change my mind, though. Hehe. (PS. Just kidding, Yesu.)

Cars like that give people the wrong idea about doctors in general. And it's not just the cars. It's the mansions and the clothes and the bank accounts. However, an MD attached to your name doesn't instantly make you filthy rich. In fact, it may never make you filthy rich at all. The filthy rich ones are often those born filthy rich in the first place.

So my point is, one shouldn't go into medicine if one's purpose is to become filthy rich. Fact: A resident gets paid P15,000 a month. Give or take a few thousand. That's just about the salary of a call center agent. In fact, I think they earn more. Plus they get all those benefits.

Well, residents eventually move up the medical food chain and become attendants and consultants. And they might end up filthy rich. But then again, they may not.

Dreaming about owning a black Porsche someday isn't wrong. But going into medicine for the money (and the honor, respect, prestige, power and everything else which goes along with it), is not just bad idea. It's a stupid one, too. You'll just end up miserable.

Note to self: Twenty years from now, buy yourself a Porsche. But don't you dare junk Yesu.

<3

No comments:

Post a Comment