My clock says 10:13 and I've got around... oh... five more chapters to read. And nineteen more chapters to read again because I don't think the information stuck when I read them the first time. Oh. And how could I forget my report for the case presentation which I should have finished, like, 2 days ago?
My head stills feel pretty clear. That's a miracle in this hour. But then I've got more or less 45 minutes till my body goes into automatic shut-down. It's incredibly hard for me to stay up till eleven. Around that time, my feet would automatically lead me to the bed. I tell myself lies (e.g. I'll just sleep for 15 minutes). And the next thing I know, daylight is poking through the windows.
I have a friend who's an intern now. She can go two to three days straight without sleeping. How she does it beats me. I envy her.
Obviously, I'm not your typical medstudent. I wish I could brag about staying up all night to study.
This, however, is my last year of formal classroom education. Next year, they're going to throw us into the lion's den. I'm not confident handling patients with the knowledge I have right now. This year could be make or break for me. So I promised myself to go beyond my limit. And go beyond my limit I shall! As they say, what makes ordinary extraordinary is that little extra.
So tonight, for the first time in a long while, I'm going to attempt doing what I've failed to do during my last two years of medschool. I am going to break through my automatic shutdown mode, armed myself with a cup of iced coffee and Switchfoot, my former study companion. I pray that I'll last through the night.
So help me God. Can't do this on my own strength.
o_O
No comments:
Post a Comment